What Pulls My Heartstrings

There are 2 things that warm my heart as a mom. One is when my kids enjoy my cooking. I don’t know why, but it makes me feel good to see them eat (and not complain). The first few weeks we were here in Ethiopia, we ate out A LOT. Now that we are settled in our house, I’m getting the hang of grocery shopping and cooking, so we’ve been eating at home more. I am amazed at how well our kids have adjusted, and how well they are eating. It may take more time for them to love injera (the sour, traditional Ethiopian bread). The biggest thing that makes my heart smile is when my kids are genuinely happy. Our kids have had so much fun playing with the other kids on the compound! It makes me feel so good! Wilson and Eli had a blast doing an air soft gun war this week, and Greta loves all the neighborhood girls. There is no shortage of kids around here, and it’s awesome how everyone comes together to hang out. Tomorrow, we go to Bingham Academy for new student orientation. The kids start school one week from today. Will starts teaching at ETC on Monday, and he’s been working on his syllabus and reading material this week. I will start a 6-week language school in September.

This week, I’m really feeling the distance between Africa and America. Not really homesick, just the helpless feeling of not being there for people I care about. Today, my brother-in-law had to have an emergency appendectomy, and earlier in the week, we found out my sister-in-law has several cysts on her ovary. If we were at home, we would go visit them in the hospital and help out with the kids. It really tugs at my heartstrings not to be there. It feels like I can’t do anything, but in reality, I can still do the most important thing – PRAY. So that’s what I’m doing; and I’m leaving the rest up to God. I’m so thankful for family members who are there taking care of them.

Tonight, Will went to play floor hockey with a bunch of guys at Bingham. They do it every Tuesday night. My boys are out playing flashlight tag with the kids on the compound. Life

Susan filling up the water filter.

here is similar in many ways to life back home, yet so different at the same time. Here are some of the things we do every day: check the rat trap (so far NO rats or evidence of rats), go to the market & bakery (our refrigerator is small and holds very little), family devotion (we are much better at this here in Africa, maybe because we are less busy?), fill up our water filter (very important, we use it so fast), wash clothes (we just got the washing machine moved to our house!), and drink tea or coffee (I especially love my new coffee set). Will still hasn’t gotten his driver’s license in the mail, so I’m still the main chauffeur. I’ve gotten pretty good at driving a 5-speed and dodging animals & people in the middle of the road. I promise to NEVER text while driving here! Driving is hard enough by itself. I’m looking forward to Will sharing the driving. Pray that his license comes soon!

Our washing machine in a shed behind our house.

My new coffee set!

I just want to say THANK YOU for reading our blog, praying for us, and encouraging us! It means so much to me to hear from people back home and know you’re thinking of us. It truly does bridge the gap and make the distance a little shorter. – Susan

This entry was posted in Year in Ethiopia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What Pulls My Heartstrings

  1. Thinking of you guys as we start Fall ball here. So glad to hear all is going well thus far. You are always in our thoughts and prayers and we know God is using you in mighty ways! Keep letting Him work through you, He has great plans for you to prosper you and not forsake you. You are an awesome family and an inspiration to all of us:)
    Faith Massey

  2. Ann Wayne says:

    Susan,
    I love the comment that you made about your family devotions…”We are much better at it here in Ethiopia because we are less busy.” I am sitting here working on a Bible study outline about boundaries and being less busy. Your comment may become one of my bullet points. Love to read your blog. And LOVE the coffee set!
    Covering your family in prayer!
    Ann Wayne

  3. Amelia Senn says:

    Hello Susan and family
    I love reading your blogs. It is amazing how easy communication is today. Aren’t you glad you don’t have to rely on snail mail all the time? Hopefully, Will will be driving soon. School started back here on Monday. I’ll be thinking about all of you as your schedules change soon. You all are in our prayers daily. Love to each of you, Aunt Sissy and Uncle Lenny

  4. Uncle Byron and Aunt Liz says:

    Hello All,
    We look forward to the updates on your blog and tell Wilson he really needs to update his! As I read your blog, it so reminded me of life when we were small. No computers, electronic games, cell phones, etc. We went out to play at sunrise and came back when the street lights came on. Always family at the dinner table and not scattered in front of the TV. Looks like a regular routine is about to set in with school and work. We love and miss you all.

  5. Ryan Ray says:

    Hey Susan, after driving there in Ethiopia and having to dodge different things, you’ll be more than qualified for Charlotte traffic when you get back! Thanks to you and Will (and Wilson!) for sharing your experiences with us. I love reading yall’s blog posts.

  6. Carrie Senn says:

    I love to hear how you always keep an eye on the things to be thankful for…such truth. It’s all in the perspective! I’m glad y’all are sort of enjoying the daily market/bakery routine. One of my favorite things in Uganda was the amazing fresh food we had; wonderful meals cooked for us every day with local ingredients. I miss that a lot, actually (and I believe we would be better off here in America if we ate more fresh/local more often!) You are such a blessing to us all. Love and hugs, and can’t wait to hear about the kids’ first day at school!

  7. Patricia Schmoutz says:

    Thinking of you guys and praying for you often. Much love to you!!!

Leave a comment